I read an article today about this ball, the One World Futbol, on the New York Times web site and I think it is the coolest thing. It is a virtually indestructible soccer ball (futbol) designed to be used by children in underdeveloped nations, or anyone who plays in less than ideal conditions. Rough terrain destroys regular balls and most balls don’t last more than a day. The inspiration for this ball came from the inventor watching children in Darfur kicking around a ball made of trash tied with twine in a refugee camp around rocky terrain. These balls never deflate and never need an air pump. For every one that gets bought, one gets donated, or you can just buy one to donate. They can also be used for other purposes, such as a chew toy for large rambunctious dogs. Like I said, it’s very cool. I think I know what I want for Christmas this year.

There’s also a tie-in to baseball. Jeremy Affeldt, a relief pitcher for the San Francisco Giants joined forces with the One World Futbol Project to raise donations for Ethiopian youth. All around, it’s a great project, and one I am happy to promote.

2 thoughts on “The Power of Play

    1. It is a great cause. I’m looking forward to playing with the ball myself.

      A ham owns a dog? You like to live dangerously. You wouldn’t last 2 minutes in my house.

Leave a Reply

