For as long as my daughter has been aware of baseball, Sam Fuld has been her favorite baseball player. Mind you, she is 4 years old. She doesn’t know anything about batting averages, slugging percentage, or WAR. All she knows is that “Sam Fuld is silly.” In 4 year old speak, she sees how Sam Fuld plays the game. Very enthusiastically. With a lot of effort. Just throws with body without any regard as to where or how it may land. He is silly. Every time we would take her to Tropicana Field, Lana had one question, “Will I meet Sam Fuld?” I don’t know, I would say. Maybe. We’ll try. One of the nice things about Tropicana Field and having a small fan base is that it affords lots of opportunities for fans to interact with the players. For whatever reason, whenever Lana was there, Sam wasn’t available. One day, my ex and I received an email from the Tampa Bay Rays. Sam Fuld was hosting a post game juvenile diabetes fund raiser with an opportunity to meet Fuld. I was not in town that weekend, but my ex said he would take her. Excellent.

Lana was so excited when she learned she would finally get to meet Sam Fuld. I asked her in the days leading up to the big day, “What are you going to say to Sam Fuld?” She said, “I am going to tell him, ‘Sam Fuld, you are silly!'” And we both laughed. I said, “You tell him that.” Well, my ex reports that is exactly what she said when she met him. Based on the picture taken, I think Sam got a kick out of it. Lana’s dad also reports that Sam is as nice in person as he seems on television.

Image
“Sam Fuld is silly!”

The kid also got to meet other Rays. I know she has no appreciation right now how lucky she is. Someday, I hope she looks back on these pictures and realize how damn lucky she was. Not many kids ever get an opportunity like that, and yesterday, she was keeping some really amazing company yesterday. And honestly, so were those players. She’s a pretty special little kid. Not that I am biased or anything.

Future Basketball Royalty Wil Myers
Future Basketball Royalty Wil Myers
Chris Archer
Chris Archer
Matt Moore
Matt Moore
Alex Cobb
Alex Cobb
Jose Lobaton
Jose Lobaton
Jamey Wright
Jamey Wright
4 thoughts on “Super Sam Fuld

  1. I love Tampa Bay regardless what anyone says. I cannot wait to travel all the way from Michigan to bring my twin girls to watch my Tampa Bay play. But before that, I will take my two boys when Rays meet Tigers on July 3,4,5,and 6.
    My oldest son met players in 2008 and ran of a field to drop chalk and a ball. He is 12 now and still talks about it.

    1. What a great experience for your boy! As adults, we know these ballplayers are flawed humans like us, but we forget what it felt like when we were children, looking up to these guys.

      I hope you enjoy your visit to Tampa Bay. I love living here, even if our fanbase leaves a lot to be desired. If I may offer a word of advice when you visit the Trop, arrive an hour earlier and hang out by the Rays bullpen in the first rows of sections 130/132 with a baseball and a sharpie. A Rays player or two will always come by to sign baseballs for the children. My little girl has gotten Longoria’s, Joyce’s, and Zobrist’s, to list a few. If it’s during the week, it won’t even be crowded.

Leave a Reply

